The Dancer & The French Monk ~ Part 1 (a portion of Glowien)

January 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

One evening, a beautiful young dancer was rehearsing the choreography for her principle role in her company’s latest production.

She was detailing her movements, by way of the Balanchine method, in her privately built home studio.

Her father, a french monk, constructed it when she was a child. She adored this studio so much that she even had a secret name for it. It was called…..well, it wouldn’t be much of a secret if that were unveiled.

IMG_0389-0

The Dancers’ home & studio were located in the Pyrenees – a range of mountains that extends along the border between France and Spain from the Atlantic coast to the Mediterranean Sea.

The air was alive, warm, sweet, and on any given day verdure, food, and laundry hanging from clothing lines would intoxicate The Dancers’ senses. She enjoyed the charm of the old world mingled with the new.

The French Monk went to visit his daughter in her studio.

She turned around, as if expecting him, smiled, and walked over to greet the old man with a tender hug and a gentle kiss on his neck.

“You remind me of your Mother. She’d be proud.”

“She’s still around. All my performances are dedicated to her.”

“I know, my love. The Family and The Order are pleased with your accomplishments. Which is why I’m here.”

“I know.”

The Dancer understood what these conversations meant.

Her Father was discreetly & powerfully influential throughout the world, particularly in the performing, visual, and literary arts. She had been trained in his Knowledge since she was five.

“Tell me what’s required,” she stated.

“The Order has decided to dispatch you to the United States. We’ve allocated a membership for you in the Dance Theater of Harlem.”

The Dancer sighed.

“Forgive me for my complaint. I love DTH, but why not Cirque du Soleil, Alvin Ailey, New York City Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, or Oregon Ballet Theater? It seems to me there’re more apropos companies that would advance our position. I’m certain I’d stand-out too much in Harlem.”

“Perhaps,” said the Monk. “Advancement is something that comes with time and patience. Together we have the knowledge and discipline needed, now time and patience must have her will. DTH serves the purpose of allowing you to advance under the radar, in other ways, without drawing unnecessary attention to The Order’s task.”

“I understand,” said The Dancer.

“I knew you would,” replied The Monk with a paternal smile. “Your plane leaves the day after your present company’s closing night performance.”

“Yes, padrĂ©.”

As The Monk turned to leave his daughter to her private practice, she spoke.

“Dad?”

“Yes, my love?”

“Will I keep my name?”

“No.”

“What shall my new name be?”

The Monk paused.

“Magdalen de Bouillon.”

The Dancer flashed a faint smile.

“How significant,” she said.

“Precisely,” replied The Monk.

~ written by Hiram Surtyr, visual creator: Ruth Barbee ~

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Dancer & The French Monk ~ Part 1 (a portion of Glowien) at The Hiram Ros Imperare: publishings of rare esoterica.

meta

