The Story of Music & Dance

February 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

Once upon a time, there was a girl named Music and a boy named Dance.

They were unaware of the other’s existence, and lived a considerable distance apart.

One day, Music was in her family’s garden tending to one of her favorite flowers – a gardenia.

Music was sad.

She thought this was odd because anytime she felt down, pruning, weeding and watering in the garden would always make her feel better.

She stared at Gardenia for awhile and asked,

“Gardy, why do I feel so melancholy?”

“Because your soul is reminding you that you’re forgetting something important in your life,” said Gardy.

“What am I forgetting?”

“That’s your responsibility to find out. I’m a Gardenia. I know what I’m supposed to do with my life.”

“How do I remember what I’m forgetting?” asked Music.

“You’ve already taken the first step – you’ve wondered.”

“What’s the next step I should take?” asked Music.

“You should consider going on an adventure.” replied the Gardenia.

“An adventure?”

“Yes. An adventure. It’s something that all humans want and need, but few of you ever muster up the courage to actually go on one. You’re a rather cowardly bunch – boring and complacent; you all do the same things, day after day after day after day.”

“Well, thanks,” said Music sarcastically.

Music decided she would go on that adventure, as suggested by Gardenia. She asked her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Inspiration, for some traveling money. They gave her what she wanted for the journey, hugged and kissed her for a long time (as was their custom, because you can never have too many hugs and kisses), and watched as she faded into the distance between the trees and mountains.

Music’s journey was arduous and lonely. She encountered many dangerous people and situations which tested her patience and knowledge.

Some stole her riches. There were bullies who called her degrading names, and told her she was wasting her time. There were also others who tried to discourage Music.

“You will never find what you’re looking for,” said a man named Pessimism.

“Yes, I will,” said Music.

“No, you won’t. And this is why – You are all alone, no one understands you, you’re different, you’re honest in a world full of liars, and you’ve been on this journey for a long time and you haven’t found what you’re missing in your life yet. Why keep going? Just stop now, turn around and go home. Don’t you miss your parents?”

“I do,” said Music hesitantly.

“Then do what’s best for you – Go home.”

Music thought about this. She was very tired, alone, and she missed Mr. and Mrs. Inspiration very much. She missed the good food her parents used to make for her every night. She missed the family garden. She missed her dog. She missed Gardenia.

At that precise moment, she remembered what Gardenia said about humans.

An adventure. It’s something that all humans want and need, but few of you ever muster up the courage to actually go on one. You’re a rather cowardly bunch – boring and complacent; you all do the same things, day after day after day after day.

It was with this thought that Music clenched her fists, looked Pessimism square in his eyes with a fire from within that she’d never felt before. She gritted her teeth. Then relaxed. She unclenched her fists.

“Get out of My way, Pessimism. Leave Me alone.”

“But…”

“I said go,” Music said with a gentle intensity.

Pessimism looked at her.

“I’ll be back,” he said.

“I’ll be ready,” said Music. Then, just as fast as he arrived, he disappeared.

Music inhaled & exhaled deeply. She did this for about five minutes and felt better. She was relaxed. Confident. Ready to traverse her journey. She then realized that Pessimism appeared at the exact moment she was considering giving up. “I can be so silly, sometimes,” she said to herself.

Then, something miraculous happened.

She’d been walking for awhile when a silhouette materialized down the road. She squinted, trying to get a better look at the figure approaching her.

She stopped walking, waiting to see if the distant shape would commence in getting closer.

It did. It got closer…and closer. She’d waited for what seemed to be an eternity, while perspiring relentlessly. The figure stopped right in front of her. It was a boy.

“Good morn to you,” he said.

“Um, hi,” said Music.

“Hot day, isn’t it?”

“Yeah, I guess,” Music said with a tone of indifference. She wondered why people always talked about the weather as an icebreaker for conversation. There’re so many more interesting things that two people could converse about.

She felt odd in this stranger’s presence. Odd, but immensely calm, and pleased.

Pleased?

Does anyone ever feel pleased around someone they don’t know? She was afraid due to the pleasure she felt being around this person.

“Who are you, and what do you want? I’ve been a pilgrim on a long journey and’ve had my share of altercations with people who want to steal my belongings, call me rude names, and discourage me to no end. So I repeat, fair sir – what. do. you. want?”

The boy looked at her with delight in his eyes. He felt a glow in his heart that was alien to him. Music didn’t know it yet, but, this boy had been looking for her – and she had been hoping for him.

“My name is Dance,” said Dance. “And I too have been on a long journey. I’ve encountered many dangers on my mission – many vagabonds who’ve also stolen from me and tested my fortitude while on this path. I miss my family and friends and have often felt like giving up. But, every time I wanted to quit, I remembered something that my father told me. He said to me, ‘Dance. You’re missing something in your life and you need to find out what it is. You are respected in the community for your fitness, prowess, and your swift movement of mind, but you are empty because you rely too much on your own ability and you have not yet realized that all beings need companions. Find what you’re missing, and you’ll be whole.’”

“Your father sounds like a wise man,” said Music.

Dance noticed the tenderness in her voice.

“He is,” said Dance with equal tenderness.

“This may sound weird, but I feel like I know you,” Music said – and she surprised herself, because Music usually isn’t so deliberate and to-the-point. Music tends to be metaphoric.

“I knew who you were as soon as I saw you in the distance,” said Dance.

“And who am I? You don’t even know my name.”

Dance took a deep breath and said, “You are The Lady who I expected to find. You are the companion that has haunted my dreams since childhood. And I know we only met a few moments ago, but…I love you.”

“I…love you,” Music said, mildly startled at how comfortable the response slipped from her mind.

“What’s your name?” asked Dance.

“Music,” she replied lovingly.

They then both gently bowed toward one another.

And so it was…

Music & Dance loved each other forever. They continued their adventure together and had wonderful experiences and met many amazing and peculiar people along the way. The difference is, when they encountered problems, dilemmas, unexpected deaths in their families, hard financial times, and things of that sort, they had each other to talk to and cope with the difficult circumstances.

They loved each other unconditionally – and they were inseparable.

~ written by Hiram Surtyr ~

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Story of Music & Dance at The Hiram Ros Imperare: publishings of rare esoterica.

meta

