Sex: a metaphysical perspective

April 26, 2012 § Leave a comment

Read not to contradict and confute; nor to believe and take for granted; nor to find talk and discourse; but to weigh and consider.”

~ (Francis Bacon)

 

The following is an abridged caption of the preface and chapter 5 from the book The Sorcerers’ Crossing by Taisha Abelar.

~

…from the preface.

I have devoted my life to the practice of a rigorous discipline, which, for lack of a more suitable name, we have called sorcery.  I am also an anthropologist, having received my Ph.D. in that field of study.  I mention my two areas of expertise in this particular order because my involvement with sorcery came first.  Usually, one becomes an anthropologist and then one does fieldwork on an aspect of culture – for example, the study of sorcery practices. With me, it happened the other way around: as a student of sorcery I went to study anthropology.

In the late sixties, while I was living in Tucson, Arizona, I met a Mexican woman by the name of Clara Grau, who invited me to stay in her house in the state of Sonora, Mexico.  There, she did her utmost to usher me into her world, for Clara Grau was a sorceress, part of a cohesive group of sixteen sorcerers. Some of them were Yaqui Indians; others were Mexicans of various origins and backgrounds, ages and sexes.  Most were women.  All of them pursued, single-heartedly, the same goal: breaking the perceptual dispositions and biases that imprison us within the boundaries of the normal everyday world that prevent us from entering other perceivable worlds.

For sorcerers, to break such perceptual dispositions enables one to cross a barrier and leap into the unimaginable. They call such a leap “The Sorcerers’ Crossing.”  Sometimes they refer to it as “The Abstract Flight,” for it entails soaring from the side of the concrete, the physical, to the side of expanded perception and impersonal abstract forms.

~

…from chapter 5. 

“You’re right, Clara.  I don’t understand the reason for your bizarre request.  And what’s this business of men getting stronger because I’m their source of energy? I’m nobody’s source or provider.  I promise you that.”

She smiled and said that she had made a mistake in forcing a confrontation of ideologies at this time.  “Bear with me,” she begged.  “This is a belief I have chosen to uphold.  As you progress with your recapitulation, I will tell you about the origin of this belief.  Suffice it to say that it is a critical part of the art I’m teaching you.”

“If it’s as important as you claim, Clara, perhaps you’d better tell me about it now,” I said.  “Before we go any further with the recapitulation, I’d like to know what I’m getting into.”

“All right, if you insist,” she said, nodding.

She poured some camomile tea into our mugs and added a spoonful of honey to hers.

In the authoritative voice of a teacher enlightening a neophyte, she explained that women, more so than men, are the true supporters of the social order, and that to fulfill this role, they have been reared, uniformly the world over, to be at the service of men.

“It makes no difference whether they are bought right off the slave block, or they are courted and loved,” she stressed. “Their fundamental purpose and fate is still the same: to nourish, shelter and serve men.”

Clara looked at me, I believe, to assess if I was following her argument.  I thought I was, but my gut reaction was that her entire premise seemed wrong.

“That may be true in some cases,” I said, “but I don’t think you can make such sweeping generalizations to include all women.”

Clara disagreed vehemently.  “The diabolical part of women’s servile position is that it doesn’t appear to be merely a social prescription,” she said, “but a fundamental biological imperative.”

“Wait a minute, Clara,” I protested.  “How did you arrive at that?”

She explained that every species has a biological imperative to perpetuate itself, and that nature has provided tools in order to ensure that the merging of female and male energies takes place in the most efficient way. She said that in the human realm, although the primary function of sexual intercourse is procreation, it also has a secondary and covert function, which is to ensure a continual flow of energy from women to men.

Clara put such a stress on the word “men” that I had to ask, “Why do you say it as if it were a one-way street? Isn’t the sexual act an even exchange of energy between male and female?”

“No,” she said emphatically.  “Men leave specific energy lines inside the body of women.  They are like luminous tapeworms that move inside the womb, sipping up energy.”

“That sounds positively sinister,” I said, humoring her.

She continued her exposition in utter seriousness.  “They are put there for an even more sinister reason,” she said, ignoring my nervous laughter, “which is to ensure that a steady supply of energy reaches the man who deposited them.  Those lines of energy, established through sexual intercourse, collect and steal energy from the female body to benefit the male who left them there.”

Clara was so adamant in what she was saying that I couldn’t joke about it but had to take her seriously.  As I listened, I felt my nervous smile turn into a snarl.  “Not that I accept for a minute what you’re saying, Clara,” I said, “but just out of curiosity, how in the world did you arrive at such a preposterous notion? Did someone tell you about this?”

“Yes, my teacher told me about it.  At first, I didn’t believe him either,” she admitted, “but he also taught me the art of freedom, and that means that I learned to see the flow of energy.  Now I know he was accurate in his assessments, because I can see the wormlike filaments in women’s bodies for myself.  You, for example, have a number of them, all of them still active.”

“Let’s say that’s true, Clara,” I said uneasily.  “Just for the sake of argument, let me ask you why should this be possible?  Isn’t this one-way energy flow unfair to women?”

“The whole world is unfair to women!” she exclaimed.  “But that’s not the point.”

“What is the point, Clara?  I know I’m missing it.”

“Nature’s imperative is to perpetuate our species,” she explained.  “In order to ensure that this continues to take place, women have to carry an excessive burden at their basic energy level.  And that means a flow of energy that taxes women.”

“But you still haven’t explained why this should be so,” I said, already becoming swayed by the force of her convictions.

“Women are the foundation for perpetuating the human species,” Clara replied.  “The bulk of the energy comes from them, not only to gestate, give birth and nourish their offspring, but also for ensuring that the male plays his part in this whole process.”

Clara explained that ideally this process ensures that a woman feeds her man energetically through the filaments he left inside her body, so that the man becomes mysteriously dependent on her at an ethereal level.  This is expressed in the overt behavior of the man returning to the same woman again and again to maintain his source of sustenance.  That way, Clara said, nature ensures that men, in addition to their immediate drive for sexual gratification, set up more permanent bonds with women.

“These energy fibers left in women’s wombs also become merged with the energy makeup of the offspring, should conception take place,” Clara elaborated.  “It may be the rudiments of family ties, for the energy from the father merges with that of the fetus, and enables the man to sense that the child is his own.  These are some of the facts of life a girl’s mother never tells her.  Women are reared to be easily seduced by men, without the slightest idea of the consequences of sexual intercourse, in terms of the energy drainage, that it produces in them.  This is my point and this is what is not fair.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sex: a metaphysical perspective at The Hiram Ros Imperare: publishings of rare esoterica.

meta

